EOTM Press Room

Rob Lowe Writes Frankly about Love, Partying and More

In Authors, Breaking News, Celebrity News on May 6, 2011 at 12:31 am

In his new autobiography: Stories I Only Tell My Friends


Rob Lowe notes that his two sons, Matthew 17 and Johnowen, 14, have read his breezy autobiography, “Stories I Only Tell My Friends”, but adds with a laugh, only “under duress:.

“They read it as an assignment when it became clear that the Oprah Winfrey show wanted to talk to them about it,” Lowe said in a recent interview. “Only then did they decide to read Dad’s book.”

Their reaction?

“They were like, “Oh, Dad. Come on.” “I am lucky if I can get them interested in anything that I am doing at this point.”

The former “Brat Pack” recently turned 47, but as anyone who saw his shirtless pose on the cover of the recent Vanity Fair can attest, time has been kind to the handsome Lowe.

Lowe talks about everything in “Stories I Only Tell My Friends”, such as finding his first brush with success on an ABC sitcom at the age of 15 and his romances with Melissa Gilbert and Princess Stephanie among many others. His relentless partying, the infamous 1988 sex tape, his 1989 disastrous appearance on the Academy Awards, his realization in 1990 that he was an alcoholic, his happy 20 year marriage to makeup artist Sheryl Berkoff and why he left his role as Sam Seaborn on “The West Wing”, after four seasons.

“I am an alcoholic,” he says matter of factly.” “I have been sober for 20 years. It will be 21 years on May 10th. If I had been a lawyer or doctor or tennis pro, I probably would have had very similar issues.”

Still he admits, Hollywood turned a blind eye to such excessive behavior in the 1980’s. “There is much less tolerance in Hollywood – the stuff that use to go on would not be tolerated today.”

Leave a Reply

